top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeff Kallis

Kidney Cancer Landscape

This map was just published in November 2023. The data is from the United States Cancer Statistics Working Group based on 2022 submission data.



The map shows the rate of new kidney cancers in the year 2020 (latest data available). What I found interesting was the higher rate of cases in the states in the middle of the United States. Why is that? There is no explanation for it that I can find, yet.


In my case, this is the only characteristic that I have in common with most kidney cancer patients. I don't smoke, I am not over weight, and don't have high blood pressure. I did have high cholesterol and triglicerides for a few years that went unchecked between my the five years between my primary care visits.


This requires a deeper dive.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page