top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeff Kallis

Falling Down

It was that time of the year again. A little cold. A lot of wind. November 4, 2023.


It's funny how all the leaves in the neighborhood seem to channel their way into our backyard. They may fall somewhere else but they manage to rest on our grass. They always fall into our lap.


So on a nice Fall afternoon, I jumped on our John Deere rider and made a couple of rows of leaves. Then I made a few piles. Then hauled them away to our woods in a cart. It reminded me of living on the farm, baling hay. After the hay falls to the ground after a sharp cut, it was time to rake the hay into rows. Fluff up the hay so it dries well before it's wrapped into a rectangle with a couple of strands of twine and blasted through a baler into the wagon. But time was of the essence. I couldn't wait a day. A good stiff wind would be sure to come along and blow all my hard work around and I'd have to start all over again.


I've always wondered why the deer don't eat the leaves when they fall on the ground. They like the green ones. The dried up ones are more like a potato chip. Maybe if I salted them. That might be a good incentive. Deer like a good salt block to lick on. Seems like a good incentive for them. It works for humans.


If only I had a baler to pick up the leaves. It would be so much easier. I have the callouses to prove it too. If only I had a few more little Kallis's to do the heavy lifting for me. Those days have passed. It was good while it lasted. Now they can rake their own leaves. Or let them blow into someone else's yard.


Truth be told, I enjoy raking leaves. For the first 15 minutes. Then it gets old. Fall is my favorite time of the year. Despite having to look forward to the rake.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page