top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeffrey Kallis

The Rodents

Updated: Jun 22

Yesterday, I took Matt's pet bunnies to the Animal Humane Society in Woodbury, MN to find a new home for them. Since Matt will be off to college for another two years, Cindy and I felt we needed to find a new home for the two critters - whom I affectionately called "The Rodents". They need owners who will give them more attention and playtime than we do. After talking with the Animal Humane Society, I was assured that they would find a loving home for Loaf and Louise.


When I brought Loaf (Newfound Dwarf) and Louise (English Angora) to be welcomed to their temporary home while they find new owners for them, I also gave them the rodent's favorite blankets and toys, as well as a supply of timothy hay, their daily food pellets, and most importantly, a box of Shredded Wheat Squares. Every day they were given 3 of the squares as a treat. And did they ever love them! I told the vets at the center that all they needed to do to become instant friends was feed them their favorite treat.


About 15 minutes after I dropped the rodents off and was on my way back to Rochester, I got a call from one of the vets at the center. She informed me that Loaf had glaucoma and cancer - most likely liver cancer. They diagnosed these conditions right away. We didn't have a clue. Instantly I felt the guilt of being bad pet parents. The vet made me feel much better when she said that rabbits are one of the few small animals that don't show pain or that they are hurting. No guilt was needed.


Still, I felt so bad for little Loaf. The vet felt the humane thing to do was to euthanize him so he doesn't suffer any longer. There is nothing they could do for Loaf other than make him comfortable. Matt told us that Loaf was between 10 to 11 years old. A good life for a bunny. Based on that, I agreed with the vet that she should put him to sleep and not suffer any longer.


Although Loaf was pretty low on the food chain and small in stature, Matt took him and Louise under his wing several years ago. He pampered them, learned more about rabbits and how to care for them than I will ever know, and gave them a compassionate and caring living.


This morning, the daily bible verse on an app that I get, was incredible. In addition to the bible verse, one of the questions to think about was "How can I help someone in need with compassion?"  Those who take care of the smallest among us are noticed - rodents and all.



This was Loaf sending a note to Matt and the family that he has passed on and sending

his "Thanks for taking care of me for part of my life". If ever I needed a reminder that God exists and sends us messages, this will do me for a lifetime.

 

What was also special and personal was that the verse is from the book of Matthew. That could not be more fitting for little Loaf and his special friend, Matt.  He was such a cute, cuddly, adorable little fella.


You made us smile, often. Rest in Peace, Loaf.


On left - Louise. On right - Loaf.






23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page