top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeff Kallis

Not a Cowboy at Heart

The closest I will ever get to being a cowboy is wearing the hat.


Deep down, more than skin deep, I am a Redskin at heart. Since I was 11 years old I have bled burgundy and gold. I even tried to influence our three boys by fitting them out in Redskin pajamas. All to no avail. Although they all looked cute as hell and dad was so proud, none of them would go on to be a Redskin fan. Even showing them pictures of them being adorned with Redskin gear didn't make them rethink their allegiance to the team. At least none of them went full turncoat and worshipped the Cowboys. That would have been a personal foul. So egregious they would have been tossed to the curb.


I still can't say the name, "Commanders", for my favorite team. According to a previous Washington Redskin owner, the Redskin name was chosen in 1933 to honor Native Americans in general. The coach and four players at that time were Native American. The Red Cloud Indian Fund on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation was also involved in designing the Redskin logo. To honor them.


The team will forever be the Redskins to me.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page